Blog Post #3 Luck

Nicholas Abbott
2 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Ok so I mentioned last time about a game idea I had about social deductions but I haven’t figured it out yet so instead I’m gonna talk some cool ideas I thought about.

So the first thing I want to talk about is about being lucky vs unlucky. The only difference between the two is the perspective on the events that are unfolding for you, in one you perceive the events to be good for you, and the other you perceive them to be bad. So why is it that I can’t think of any character where just extremely unlikely things happen to them constantly, but have seen many instances of a singular character having horrible/amazing luck consistently?

It would be such a cool idea if there was a character in a story that had a cannon explanation/plot point around why unlikely situations could occur. The characters would have to plan around it or try to prevent it from affecting them in certain situations and it would provide an interesting angle to construct problems from. It can also be more subdued in that it isn’t constantly active and instead just active in short bursts. It could be random or consistent bursts but either could make some interesting situations occur. Planning around the short bursts trying to sway them to be good, or it being a plot point hidden from the characters AND audience that gets revealed at some point.

I think this is something I will definitely add to one of my stories, I’m not sure if it will be for the mystery but it could be. It would make the story more sci-fi/mystical but it could be something similar to Danganronpa where everyone has some sort of talent/power associated with them. However it seems hard to satisfy the “figure it out beforehand” and also have things that are completely random happening at the same time. Maybe it is a better fit for an adventure story.

A bit of a short one today, also took longer to make it so I nailed my plan of doing it faster as well as I expected. Next one should be out sooner TM

--

--